Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Thursday, August 16, 2012

"Madonna and Chihuahua" made from July's trash, cut up and Mod-Podged into a mosaic.  2'x4'.  
By Jane E. Herrold

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

July's Junk - August's Art


Jane E. Herrold, local lifelong artist formerly known as "Calamity Jane," embraces her true identity in trash.  “Give art a chance,” delights Jane, after collecting non-perishable materials from one month’s worth of cast-offs, generated by two dogs and one human living in Astoria, OR.  July’s junk is August’s art.
  
Join us for Astoria's Art Night Out, Saturday, August 11th, 2012. We will be celebrating the "July's Junk - August's Art" installation at KALA, 1017 Marine Drive, Astoria, from 5-8pm.

"First thing that pops into my head."


Monday, July 23, 2012

Sunday, July 22, 2012

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Friday, July 20, 2012

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Monday, July 16, 2012

Friday, July 13, 2012

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Thursday, July 5, 2012

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Sunday, July 1, 2012

Saturday, June 30, 2012

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

It's the whole family!   Happy LOVE!  

Saturday, April 28, 2012

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Hoss gets a bath?

Today I gave Hoss a bath.

Monday, April 23, 2012

Hoss

How about a little kiss from Hoss?

Monday, April 16, 2012

Bob...

My "Cousin Bob" came over and hung a chandelier (which has been in my way for a year) for me today. Bless his Pea Pickin' Heart. He let me cry on his shoulder, told me to buck up, and even took the dead battery out of my VWBug for me so I can take it in and get it charged. There is a GOD and his name is BOB!

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

PEACE


♫What's so funny 'bout
peace, love and understanding?♫

Monday, April 9, 2012

Regrets


Cafe Vaquera at KMUN is over. Done. Finished. I am so grateful for the privilege of being on the air, sharing the music and the love for 15 long years. I feel proud of the integrity with which I approached my volunteer position and proud of the work.

If I had a "DO OVER," I would not change much, just two things. I would have used "SWEET JANE" for a stage name for the radio show, from the start. I think the whole climate would have changed by that little fact alone. AND, after 15 years of good work, I would not have returned after Sabbatical. I should have left it at that... leave 'em laughin'. I wish someone would have cared enough to have told me.

Monday, January 30, 2012

Sunday, January 29, 2012

Friday, January 27, 2012

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Monday, January 23, 2012

Sunday, January 22, 2012

30-Day Challenge/ January 2012.

Day 22:

Serpent:


I once knew a ball python named Monty. At first Monty frightened me, but as we grew to know each other, he would sit on my lap, curled up in a ball, literally. We would watch television. Monty knew me when I’d come over to his house, which made me feel oddly special; to be known by a serpent.


Saturday, January 21, 2012

30-Day Challenge/ January 2012.


Day 21:

Smoke:


My church-lady mother was a closet Kent addict. She would lock herself in the family bathroom with a pack of menthol cigarettes and a Del crossword puzzle paperback. I spent many mornings yearning for an alternative toilet situation, scoffing at the tainted odor of smoke. Now, when I encounter a recent smoke sanctuary bathroom, I reek of nostalgia for my her.


Friday, January 20, 2012

30-Day Challenge/ January 2012.


Day 20:

Raven:


Remember the taxidermized crow 1940s hat I used to wear? It was a small black veiled cap that sat on the left side of my head. The crow’s beak pointed down the forehead toward the eye. I wore it to several weddings.


Thursday, January 19, 2012

30-Day Challenge/ January 2012.


Day 19:

Quill:


I thought you said, “Quail.” I chased these guys around for hours.


Wednesday, January 18, 2012

30-Day Challenge/ January 2012.


Day 18:

Piranha


Some people can eat you alive.

Some people suck the air out of the room.


Just when I was ready to take the dive,

He started a feeding frenzy of doom.


I didn’t know he was a piranha.

I didn’t mean to get involved.

“Hey Lady, do you wanna?”

I’d like to have the question absolved.


Tuesday, January 17, 2012

30-Day Challenge/ January 2012.


Day 17:

Orchid:


A black whale breached beside the boat.

A white orchid tucked behind my ear.

We laughed and partied into the night,

All was magic, joyful, without care.

I was a beautiful hula dancer.

He was The Handsome Turquoise Knight.

In the morning something was not right.

White orchids, red blood, blue fright.

The diagnosis was full-blown cancer.

Twenty five years stepped to the right

Since I danced with that orchid in my hair.


Sunday, January 15, 2012

30-Day Challenge/ January 2012.


Day 15:

Mushroom:


Feed your head.